A time of much death: The Georgian era.

A brief time line of key events that occurred during the Georgian Era: 1714 – 1830.

1714 – Upon the death of his second cousin Queen Anne, George Louis, Elector of Hannover succeeds as the new King, George I, of Great Britain and Ireland, the former of which had itself been established in 1706. This is the beginning of the House of Hanover’s reign over the British Crown.

1715 – The Whig Party wins the British Parliamentary Election for the House of Commons. This was the party that was in general opposition of the policies of the King.

1727 – George I dies and his son George, Prince of Wales ascends to the throne as George II.

1746 – The final Jacobite rising is crushed at the Battle of Culloden.

1760 – George II dies, and his grandson George, Prince of Wales ascends to the throne as George III, since his father, Frederick, Prince of Wales, had died in March 1751.

1763 – Britain is victorious in the Seven Years War. The Treaty of Paris of 1763 grants Britain domain over vast new territories around the world.

1765 – The Stamp Act is passed by the Parliament of Great Britain, causing much unrest in the Thirteen Colonies in North America.

1775 – The War of Independence begins in the Thirteen Colonies, specifically in Massachusett.

1776 – The Thirteen Colonies in North America declare their independence from the British Crown and British Parliament.

1781 – The British Army in America under Lord Cornwallis surrenders to George Washington after its defeat in Yorktown, Virginia in October 1781.

1783 – British formally recognizes the independence of the original 13 American States when the Treaty of Paris of 1783 is signed by David Hartley, representing George III, and by the American treaty delegation.

1793 – Marie Antoinette, Queen of France was executed on the 16th of October 1793 at the Place de la Révolution in Paris, France. Her death followed the execution of her husband, King Louis XVI who died on 21 January of the same year.

1801 – The Act of Union 1800 comes into effect on 1 January, uniting the Kingdoms of Great Britain and of Ireland into the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.

1811 – George, Prince of Wales begins his nine-year period as the regent (he became known as George, Prince Regent) for George III, who has become delusional. This sub-period of the Georgia Era is defined as the regency period.

1815 – Napoleon I of France is defeated by the Seventh Coalition under The Duke of Wellington at the Battle of Waterloo, in what is now Flanders, Belgium.

1819 – The Peterloo Massacre occurs.

1820 – George III dies, and his son George, Prince Regent ascends to the throne of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland as George IV.

1830 – George IV dies. According to some authorities, this is the end of the Georgian era of the House of Hannover. However many other authorities continue this Era during the relatively-short reign of his brother, Prince William who became William IV.


Leave a comment

Filed under Era's, Timelines

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s